The State Planning Commission (the Commission) has appointed Mr David Altmann as an Ordinary Member of the State Commission Assessment Panel (SCAP) for the period 1 September 2021 to 31 May 2023.

Mr Altmann is a planning practitioner with over 30 years of experience, having worked as a local government manager and Chief Executive Officer and more recently within his own planning consultancy business. Mr Altmann is also an Accredited Professional (Level 1 and 2) under the new planning system.

Having worked extensively across regional councils, including advising many councils on the implementation of the Planning and Design Code, Mr Altmann brings a thorough understanding of regional planning issues and knowledge to the SCAP.

This appointment follows the Commission's public call for SCAP applicants via an expression of interest process in April this year.

"I welcome David as our newest SCAP member and congratulate him on this appointment. David's extensive breath and depth of experience in regional planning and local government matters will complement the knowledge of existing SCAP members," said Commission Chairperson Helen Dyer.

The SCAP currently comprises six members - a Presiding Member, a Deputy Presiding Member and four ordinary members as well as occasional / specialist members - who are appointed by the Commission.

Mr Altmann's appointment will increase the SCAP membership to seven members. All members are appointed for a maximum of 3 years and are eligible for reappointment.

Collectively, the SCAP have qualification and experience in strategic planning and development, local government, urban and landscape design, building safety and construction, heritage, environmental management and sustainability, and legal expertise.

The SCAP meet fortnightly to assess and determine development applications of state significance where the State Planning Commission is the relevant authority.

SCAP member information is available on the SA Planning Commission website.