Go to top of page

Awards and Research

FSSA conducts research and development and staff publish in scientific and medical journals.

2018 Royal Australian College of Pathologists Distinguished Fellow Award

Distinguished Fellow Award

Conferred in recognition of outstanding contributions to pathology and to the medical and wider community through practice, leadership, involvement and advocacy across a broad range of areas.

Winner - Professor Roger Byard, AO, PSM

Meritorious Service Award

Winner - Dr Neil Langlois

2017 ANZPAA NIFS Best Paper Awards

Best paper in a Refereed Journal

Winner - Duncan Taylor and David Powers, Teaching artificial intelligence to electropherograms

Best technical article or note

Winner - Duncan Taylor, Damien Abarno, Emily Rowe and Lauren Rask-Nielsen, Observations of DNA transfer within an operational Forensic Biology Laboratory

Highly commended - Kelly Olds, Roger Byard, Calle Winskog & Neil Langlois, Microbial impacts in postmortem toxicology

Best chapter in a book

Winner - Roger Byard, Ian Musgrave, Garth Maker & Michael Bunce, What risks do herbal products pose to the Australian community?

Best case study

Winner - Jackie Wright, Michaela Kenneally, John Edwards & Stewart Walker, Adverse health effects associated with living in a former methamphetamine drug laboratory – Victoria, Australia 2015

2017 Science Excellence Awards

STEM Professional

Winner - Dr Duncan Taylor

Watch Dr Duncan Taylor talking about his work (video).

2017 FSSA Ross Vining Awards

Professor Ross Vining was Director of Forensic Science SA from 2008 -2012 before he tragically died when he was flying the light plane he built crashed over a very remote part of northern Australia.

Ross made an indelible impression on FSSA during his time as director. He will always be missed and remembered by staff. Our state of the art conference facilities and our annual awards ceremony have been named in his memory.

Foundation/Infrastructure Award

Winner - Jennifer Zuffi, Bronwen Keelan, Santina Poritz, Cheryl Ceasar, Emily Bellinger and Melissa Summers for their role in the successful transition at FSSA to receiving evidence through the SAPOL Evidence Desk.

Customer Service/Public Relations Award

Winner - Michaela Kenneally for her work on hair samples taken from two sexual assault victims and preparing for court, commenting on a defence statement and presenting evidence in the trial.

Professor Hilton Kobus Research Award

Winner - Matthew Cox, Ben Painter, Clark Nash and Paul Pigou for research into methods of manufacture of illicit drugs, and publishing of 10 papers in international, peer-reviewed journals in the last year.

Justice Ted Mullighan Outstanding Case Award

Winner - Liz Ockleshaw for her tireless work and presentation of evidence in the large and multi-faceted SA Health bogus death threats case involving Tabitha Lean and Simon Peisley.

Special Awards

Winner - Penny Kostakis for validating and implementing the Perkin Elmer Janus Liquid Handling Platform (LHP) for the fully automated analysis of Drugs in Oral Fluid. This is the first LHP introduced into a forensic toxicology laboratory in Australia.

Winner - Emma Partridge, Stephen Trobbiani and Peter Stockham for the development of strategic capabilities for the detection and the exchange of contemporary information relating to New Psychoactive Substances (NPS).

2016 SA Architecture Awards

Enduring Architecture - Jack Cheesman Award

Winner - South Australian Forensic Science Centre

Related information

Email us at forensicadministration [at] sa.gov.au (subject: Request%20for%20information%20about%20FSSA%20research) for more information about current research.