The Outback Communities Authority (OCA) manages and governs the unincorporated areas of South Australia.

The region encompasses 63% of South Australia. It is home to around 4,500 people who live in small townships and settlements including pastoral, farming and tourism enterprises.

The OCA structure is unique as it performs some functions usually carried out by local government and some that is generally the responsibility of state government.

The OCA is funded through federal and state governments. In particular, it receives Australian Government funding through the South Australian Local Government Grants Commission.

Visit the Outback Communities Authority website to learn more.