The South Australian Aboriginal Advisory Council (SAAAC) is the Government of South Australia's peak advisory body on matters of Aboriginal affairs’ programs and policy.


The SAAAC comprises up to 10 Aboriginal people appointed by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs.

Current members of the SAAAC are:

  • Ms Sharron Williams (Chair)
  • Mr Joel Bayliss
  • Mr Richard Callaghan
  • Ms Glenise Coulthard
  • Ms Tracy Rigney
  • Ms Aileen Shannon
  • Mr Dean Walker

The current make-up of the SAAAC is broadly representative of the South Australian Aboriginal community – it includes members from a range of language groups, a gender balance and representation from metropolitan Adelaide, regional and remote South Australia.


The SAAAC meets approximately 6 times per year, with executive support provided by our department.

In addition to the SAAAC’s formal meetings, the Chair can meet with the Minister, Chief Executives and other senior Government of South Australia officers, the Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement and key Aboriginal stakeholders.


The role of the SAAAC is to:

  • provide the government with confidential advice on existing and new programs and policies as they affect Aboriginal people
  • identify and inform the government of emerging issues that will affect Aboriginal people from both metropolitan and regional perspectives
  • provide the government with advice on the development and implementation of future policies and services concerning Aboriginal people
  • provide advice to government agencies about appropriate consultation processes with Aboriginal communities
  • maintain links with other relevant advisory bodies.