Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation supports and works in partnership with the state’s Aboriginal landholding authorities: the Aboriginal Lands Trust, APY and Maralinga Tjarutja.

Each of these landholding authorities holds land in trust for Aboriginal South Australians and is a statutory body enshrined in state legislation.

The governance of these entities and other Aboriginal structures and organisations is an area of focus of the state government, which was previously addressed through Treaty negotiations and the Aboriginal Regional Authority Policy, and is now supported through the Government of South Australia's Aboriginal Affairs Action Plan 2019–2020.

Aboriginal organisations and businesses are also important partners in the government’s efforts to create employment and economic opportunities for Aboriginal people.

Aboriginal economic participation

Aboriginal Lands Trust

Amendment of the APY Land Rights Act 1981

Buthera Agreement